A tough long ride for IMNZ

January 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

The group targeted to ride 150km this Sunday to get ourselves used to sitting on the saddle – and I completed it!

This ride was more challenging than previous rides because we included climbs – this was our menu:

  • 3 loops of Mt Faber (1 round from Kampung Bahru, 2 Morse Road)
  • 1 Hockey Stick (at Tuas)
  • 3 loops of NTU
  • 2 loops of Mandai

I did the best I could.  Completed 2.5 loops of Mt Faber, 2 loops of  NTU, and 2 loops of Mandai.  My legs felt like dead weight after NTU.

On top of this, I was cycling against the headwind all morning!  I refused to draft the guys because it would take the purpose out of training, right?  Besides, IMNZ is a non-drafting race, so I need to condition myself for the tough and windy conditions.   I’m not as strong as the guys, so naturally, I got dropped big time!

Did I feel pain?  Of course I did!  I felt pain everywhere after the 110 km mark – my neck ached, my arms ached from gripping my handlebars,  I was saddle sore and my legs felt like they were going to fall off.

It was more of a mental game, than a physical challenge.  At many points, I bargained with myself to stop, cut out a few loops and go back for a nice cold drink.  However, towards the end of the ride, I dug deep and managed to speed up to cycle back to where my friends were.   Somehow, the pain stopped.  Perhaps its adrenaline?   I’m so thankful that I have a bunch of enthusiastic friends who are encouraging when the going gets tough.

Plans of raising funds for the school’s charity kept me going too.  I can’t ask for donations, and DNF the race right?  Good grief, I thought.

I was very slow – but I told myself that its a conditioning process.  Plus I was learning to spin using a lighter gear combination instead of mashing heavy gears, and the good news is – no cramps!  Ironically, my legs felt ready for a run after 150km!  See?  More mental than physical!

The next ride will be about 160km to 175km… then the tapering phase starts.  My aim is to arrive at the race free of injuries, and to finish the race safely.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading A tough long ride for IMNZ at Lynn's Mindless Chatter.

meta