Training for Ironman New Zealand 2011

January 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

Training for Ironman New Zealand began with friends in 2010.  Together, we started our Sunday cycling sessions and swim training classes.

Learning from my previous Ironman training mistake of wearing the wetsuit only 2 months before the IM, this time I started swimming in it since October/November 2010 because it takes me a while to be comfortable in a wetsuit.  Besides, the dynamics of swimming in a wetsuit are also different.  Building strength in my shoulders, learning to cope with breathing in a tight wetsuit, and getting my strokes right were important.  In addition to this, I also swim twice a week (instead of once previously) to build my strength in swim training.

Cycling has been a challenge for me.  This is my weakest discipline.  There are so many things to learn about cycling!  The problems I have to fight with are cramps, cycling against headwind and nutrition on the bike. I try not to draft during training, and it is not easy.   On some days, I find it hard to keep pace with the rest and I get dropped from the pack.

Running is the least of my worries – at least, if I am tired, I can walk without worrying about falling over.

My aim for IMNZ?  To arrive at the race injury free, and to complete the race in 17 hours.  🙂

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training for Ironman New Zealand 2011 at Lynn's Mindless Chatter.

meta